Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Emperor Hadrian's boyfriend. Hadrian had him deified after his deathEmperor Hadrian’s boyfriend. Hadrian had him deified after his death

Hadrian, Roman Emperor (AD 117-38)

Born in Rome but of Spanish descent, Hadrian was adopted by the emperor Trajan (reigned AD 98-117) as his successor.

Having served with distinction on the Danube and as governor of Syria, Hadrian never lost his fascination with the empire and its frontiers. Previous emperors had been content to remain at Rome in peacetime. Hadrian, however, travelled throughout the empire for nearly half his reign, building temples, baths and libraries wherever he went.

At Tivoli, to the east of Rome, he built an enormous palace, a microcosm of all the different places he had visited. He was an enthusiastic public builder, and perhaps his most celebrated building is the Pantheon, the best preserved Roman building in the world. Hadrian’s Wall is a good example of his devotion to Rome’s frontiers and the boundaries he established were retained for nearly three hundred years.

Hadrian openly displayed his love of Greek culture. Some of the senate scornfully referred to him as Graeculus (‘the Greekling’). He sported a beard, until then almost exclusively a Greek fashion and was well-versed in Greek culture and philosophy. Hadrian made his male lover, Antinous, a god after his mysterious death in the River Nile. His confidence sometimes became overbearing. For example, the architect Apollodorus of Damascus was banished and eventually murdered for refusing to agree to Hadrian’s plans.

Hadrian fell seriously ill, perhaps with a form of dropsy (swelling caused by excess fluid), and retired to the seaside resort of Baiae on the bay of Naples, where he died in AD 134.

Source: http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/highlights/article_index/h/hadrian,_roman_emperor_ad_117.aspx

They went out of the room into a big squared place that used to be a garden, when spring and summer ruled. At that time, the naked branches moved the way the wind blew.

-However, Nerva, you have to be honest with me. I told you yesterday that you have to trust me. I mean it. As I already said I am convinced that it was Cornelius’s idea to kidnap Julia. I don’t know his reasons. What I know is that he tries to become a senator as his brother, Julius. He came to Britannia a couple years ago. His legionnaires underrate the level of skills needed in the army. We won’t get support in our campaign against the offenders from the North, because the Emperor Hadrian needs troops in his Dacian Wars. We have to defend the empire with remedies we have. I can’t count on Cornelius and his soldiers. They’re just cannon fodder. However, Cornelius sends Julia back to Julius. It looks as if Julius started gathering his powers and backtrack from Britannia. I don’t like it. Therefore, I don’t want her to leave the island. It doesn’t matter whether she will stay here as my guest or whether she welcomes me in Eboracum, where her husband is. I wanted to visit him already weeks ago. I’ve heard a lot about him. I wanted to meet him personally.

-Why do you tell it to me? – Nerva wondered and it camouflaged his insecurity as he listened to Pompeius’s plan of visit.

-Because I am a real friend of Appius and you really are Appius’s soldier. – Pompeius answered and noticed that Nerva wasn’t comfortable with something. He assumed that Nerva didn’t like Maxentius and didn’t feel good by sending the girl back to her husband. – I think that the plenty of Appius’s soldiers were here lately due to Julia’s husband. Apparently, he’s not only a very interesting person for me. Appius keeps him in sight as well. There has to be reason for it.

Nerva swallowed heavily, but didn’t comment anything.

-Take Julia from the Fabii family and go back to the camp. You can get my horses. I will send a message to Appius and to her father that she comes to him after my visit in Eboracum. Expect me in two or three weeks. I have here a riddle to solve. I’ll keep Cornelius here for a week with celebrations and social life he misses so much. Have an eye at the girl and at her husband. If you wish to send your own messages, my messengers can overtake the delivery.

-With all due respect, I thank you for the offer, however, I can’t accept it.

-Of course, you will use your own horses and you’ll send your own messenger. That’s the school of Appius. – Pompeius smiled with respect in his eyes.

Nerva nodded and wanted to give back the ring.

-Keep it and use it wisely, when you need my help.

Nerva saluted and left the cold garden. As he came to the street, he steadied his back on a wall of a house some streets further and breathed heavily. Then, he drifted along for a longer while to check whether he was followed by anyone. As he was sure, he hadn’t any followers, he attentively came back to Philo. The satyr brought him to Julia. She sat with bounded hands and a small bruise on her wrists. Nerva wanted to kill Philo in the moment he saw Julia captured that way. He lifted the small man up and within seconds, Philo’s face became red.

-No, Nerva! No! – Julia screamed as she saw what was happening. – It’s my fault. I didn’t trust him. He said you will come back, but I thought he lied. I tried to escape, so he bounded me. – Julia explained shortly.

Nerva put Phil down and excused himself for the purpose he had. Phil breathed heavily and didn’t like amused.

-Nerva, you bastard. I did what you said. – He said angry and bumpily while trying to get a normal breath.

-Philo… – Nerva wasn’t able to justify anything.

The satyr came to Julia and with a small knife, he cut through the rope around her wrists. She tried to relax her hands after hours of lacking motion. She stood up and jumped to Nerva. He hugged her and Phil shook his head with fury.

Feel free to download it from Smashwords in your favourite format and send me your feedback :-)

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/534954

