Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Dancing Faun, Pompeii, located in one of the largest, most luxurious homes in Pompeii. This home, named House of the Faun after this bronze statue, contained many important works of art

The Dancing Faun, Pompeii, located in one of the largest, most luxurious homes in Pompeii. This home, named House of the Faun after this bronze statue, contained many important works of art

-You see, I have nobody, who is important to me so much that I wouldn’t fall asleep knowing that such person is in danger. You’re vulnerable. I am not. – His words were full of confidence.

-It’s not hard to die when you know you have been loved.

-You’re wrong, Marcus Lucius. You’re wrong. It’s even harder than you think. -Pompeius turned around wit furious sparkles in his eyes and left.

The forenoon passed by. The afternoon was over. Evening prowled slowly. The wind that came into Julia’s chamber brought the first scents of spring. Drapes danced in the room as four guards brought Marcus Lucius away from the chamber. He was let through the dining room, where he used to eat meals in company of Julia and Nerva. He was pushed to go further and finally. He stood in the yard, where he used to practice his skills. There, the stranger was waiting for him. Marcus Lucius saluted.

-Now, you already know who I am, soldier. – Hadrian smiled.

Marcus Lucius didn’t response.

-Please, sit down and let’s talk. If you don’t want to tell me anything, then don’t. – He made a short pause. – I sent you Julia. I give you my word that she won’t get hurt by anyone.

Marcus Lucius sighed and sit down next to the emperor. His tension decreased, but didn’t disappear.

-She is a very charming being. – The emperor continued quietly. – Life is all about living for one another, so we try to live with those who we love and respect most. – He sighed deeply and stopped talking for a while. He breathed the air deeply and savoured the moment. – As I became the emperor, I wished to have a period of peace. I don’t want any further, unnecessary battles or wars. The empire needs to rest. We, soldiers, need to rest. We need to look after what is most important in life…

