Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Roman Fort Ruins on Hadrian's Wall- Housestead was one of many forts built along Hadrian's wall to protect the Roman empire from barbarian tribes in northern Great Britain

Roman Fort Ruins on Hadrian’s Wall- Housestead was one of many forts built along Hadrian’s wall to protect the Roman empire from barbarian tribes in northern Great Britain

One of the elders, the smallest one, with white hair and long beard, with trembling fingers and wrinkles of wisdom, spoke aloud in his own dialect. He welcomed the gesture of the Roman soldier and liked the openness towards the local villagers. Then, he spoke in Latin, because he noticed that Nerva didn’t follow, which made him a bit nervous. Indeed, Nerva made a stressful impression. Marcus Lucius was calm and smiled friendly. Everyone smiles in the same language and Marcus Lucius used the power of interhuman relationships.

-My Father hunted this forest before me and tilled the soil before me. My name is Cunobarros, Head Hound. I am a hunter. This is my land. And I will give my land to my sons, who will hunt here with their sons after I am gone. I am no soldier. I don’t fight with men. I hunt.

Nerva followed Marcus Lucius and bowed his thanks. He recognized the respect for the old man. Marcus Lucius didn’t break the speech of Cunobarros, so the elder continued:

-I remember one Roman man, who spoked with me years ago. He was accompanied by his best friend, as you do, and he spoke about peace, as you do.

Marcus Lucius trembled shortly, because he thought about his father.

-You know the man I am talking about, I see it in your eyes. – Cunobarros said. – You have it written on your face. Your face looks like his…

Nerva got scared. He didn’t know what to do. Marcus Lucius held him gently from getting up. Nerva kept his position and sat down again. Marcus Lucius bowed his head once again and started talking calmly:

-Your memory is right. It was my father. As my father, I wish to keep the season of peace as long as it is possible. I came here to say it to you directly, so that you know my face and my intentions. I came here to assure you that we can fight together against the men from North.

-We are hunters. We don’t fight. We hunt.

