Tags

, , , ,

-She is a very charming being. – The emperor continued quietly. – Life is all about living for one another, so we try to live with those who we love and respect most. – He sighed deeply and stopped talking for a while. He breathed the air deeply and savoured the moment. – As I became the emperor, I wished to have a period of peace. I don’t want any further, unnecessary battles or wars. The empire needs to rest. We, soldiers, need to rest. We need to look after what is most important in life… As far as I can see it, you did the right thing. You improved the skills and the morals of soldiers. You didn’t run away, even if you had enough chances to flee. You let your soldiers to a fight and you won. You developed good relationships with the local folks. I’ve heard you even speak their language. You are the man I need for a period of peace. You are a good soldier and a good man. What happened to you that you landed here?

Ancient Roman Augustus of Prima Porta, 1st century, white marble

Ancient Roman Augustus of Prima Porta, 1st century, white marble

